[CMC] CCSDS Space Link Services Area - proposed nominations to CESG for the Radio Frequency Modulation Working Group

Ignacio.Aguilar.Sanchez at esa.int Ignacio.Aguilar.Sanchez at esa.int
Tue May 17 12:02:11 UTC 2022

Dear CMC Principal Delegates,

As you may already know our esteemed CCSDS colleague Enrico Vassallo (ESA) 
has resigned from his position as Chair of the Radio Frequency Modulation 
(RFM) Working Group within the Space Link Services (SLS) Area.

At the next CESG meeting (7 June 2022) I will be proposing for CESG 
approval the following two nominations in the SLS Area:

-       Dennis Lee (NASA), Chair of the RFM Working Group,
-       Gunther Sessler (ESA), Deputy Chair of the RFM Working Group.

Hereafter you can find their biographies.

Dennis Lee has 20+ years of experience with RF telecommunication systems 
at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, with broad expertise in flight 
transponder testing, receiver design, and spectrum analysis.  He has 
worked on multiple NASA missions such as the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter, 
Mars Science Laboratory, and Soil Moisture Active Passive, as well as on 
JPL telemetry receiver development and antenna arraying tasks.  Dennis 
joined the RFM Working Group in 2000, helping to develop standards for 
power and bandwidth efficient modulations.  He has been the Deputy Chair 
of the Working Group since 2015.  Currently, he is supervisor of the JPL 
Spectrum Engineering Group and a member of the Space Frequency 
Coordination Group.

Gunther Sessler was working for 5 years at the university of Karlsruhe 
(Germany), where he performed telecommunications research. After 
completion of his PhD at the university, he joined ESA, where he started 
with modem design & development for ground stations, with focus on signal 
modulation/demodulation. He has now been working for ESA for 18 years on a 
variety of projects and domains. He is currently responsible for the 
section leading ESA's ground station modem development. He has been a 
member of the CCSDS RFM Working Group for now more than 10 years.

Should you wish to propose alternative candidates please make it known 
before the CESG meeting (7 June 2022).

Kind regards,

Ignacio Aguilar Sánchez,

SLS Area Director


Ignacio Aguilar Sánchez
Communication Systems Engineer
Electrical Engineering Department

European Space Research and Technology Centre
Keplerlaan 1, PO Box 299, 2200 AG Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Tel. (31) 71 565 5695
Fax (31) 71 565 5418
Email: ignacio.aguilar.sanchez at esa.int

This message is intended only for the recipient(s) named above. It may contain proprietary information and/or
protected content. Any unauthorised disclosure, use, retention or dissemination is prohibited. If you have received
this e-mail in error, please notify the sender immediately. ESA applies appropriate organisational measures to protect
personal data, in case of data privacy queries, please contact the ESA Data Protection Officer (dpo at esa.int).

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.ccsds.org/pipermail/cmc/attachments/20220517/6876d174/attachment.htm>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: image/gif
Size: 1155 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://mailman.ccsds.org/pipermail/cmc/attachments/20220517/6876d174/attachment.gif>

More information about the CMC mailing list